Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Cruise review of SuperStar Libra (ex. NCL Sea)

  1. #1
    Casual Cruiser
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    83

    Cruise review of SuperStar Libra (ex. NCL Sea)

    As mentioned before, this is my cruise review.
    Photos will be available soon.

    SORRY FOR MY VERY POOR ENGLISH!!!

    Ship Name: SuperStar Libra
    Where did I go: South China Sea,
    Hong Kong-> Haikou, China-> Hong Kong
    When did I go: 16/01/08 to 18/01/08
    Overall Rating: 4.8/5
    Number of Cruises I’ve been on: 9 Cruises

    Overview:
    SuperStar Libra is formerly known as Norwegian Sea. She has been transferred from NCL in 2006 and begins her life in Asia. Normally, Taipei (Keelung) is her homeport and she is repositioned to Hong Kong due to Taiwan’s unfavorable weather condition during winter. This cruise was my first time to board the Libra, but I have cruised with Star Cruises for 8 times, so I really know what to expect. In fact, it is one of the best cruises I have ever had.

    Public Areas:
    Overall, her public areas are nice and in good condition. I like the Stardust Lounge very much. One or two “Broadway Style” production shows (depends on the number of passengers) will be performed at Stardust Lounge. The decoration is nice, chairs are very comfortable. But your view may be blocked by other passengers (esp. their heads) if you are sitting at the back of the lounge.
    The walk-around promenade is great. Many sofas are installed in the lobbies (not the ship’s central lobby) (They are the places where you wait for the lifts) and you can enjoy the unblocked sea view from there. No need to mention, the casinos (The major source of Star’s revenues) are the most beautiful places on the ship. The open decks and the swimming pools are good.

    Food and Service:
    Foods are great. You can choose the Chinese style; Western style or the buffet. Mostly I chose the Western style. For dinner, you will have a salad; soup; main course and the dessert. For lunch, you need to choose between the salad and the soup. They are all delicious. The breakfasts; afternoon teas and the mid-night buffets are nothing special.
    For the services, don’t expect too much. Crews are willing to do what they are required by the company. But they are all friendly and polite. In fact, they are the best crews I have ever met on the Star Cruises’ ships.

    Cabins:
    We stayed in an ocean view cabin with a picture window. It is a little bite small, but quiet comfortable. It should be OK for a short cruise. However, the toilet (esp. the shower) is quiet small….

    Entertainment:
    For my cruise, production show was performed every night. And I have attended all (2 shows in total). They were good and were performed by professional dancers. Other than the production shows, there were some activities during the cruise but I didn’t participated in.

    Activities & Itinerary:
    Haikou is the only Port of Call. Star arranges 3 different Shore Excursions for you and it will cost you about HK$300 per person. (including a lunch). Nothing special but they are worth to join. But language may be a big problem.

    Who goes:
    Most of the passengers are from Hong Kong and the mainland China. But there are some foreigners too.
    Upcoming Cruises:
    Costa Classica 09/11/2009 6D5N Asia cruise

  2. #2
    Almighty Cruiser
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    79,440
    Thanks for your review --- sounds like you had a nice time.

    I know what you mean about the small shower! All the older ships have very small bathroom facilities. At least most of the new ones give you enough room to turn around in.

    By the way, your English is just fine.

  3. #3
    Newbie Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    Hi cruisesenet

    We are going on the same cruise 23 February 2008. We are from Australia.
    Would you by any chance know what the ship telephone number is?
    We will be calling Star Cruises tomorrow to find out.

    Sounds like you had a good time on the ship
    regards
    Norm

  4. #4
    Newbie Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4
    Hi Cruisenet, thanks for a great report. We're also cruising on the Libra on the 23rd Feb for 6 nights so am very excited to read anything about the ship and tours.

    Kerri

  5. #5
    Cruise-a-Lot Planersedge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,814
    Do you have any pictures posted anywhere? It would be interesting to see the changes made to the Sea to become the Libra.

    PE
    Your Friendly NCL ex-Navigator, John
    If I don't know the answer I'm fairly certain I can find it.



    A bad day at sea is better than a good day at work.

  6. #6
    Newbie Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    Hi Kerry

    Glenda & I are from South Australia. We will be on the Libra as well, I am sure we will pass each other on the ship somewhere, even though we may know it.

    Which country are you from. We are from South Australia.

    Nor & Glenda

  7. #7
    Almighty Cruiser sue miller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cape Coral Fl.
    Posts
    57,507
    Great review thank you for taking the time to write it!! Can't wait to see the pictures!!
    Some people try to turn back their odometers. Not me! I want people to know why I look this way. I've traveled a long way, and some of the roads weren't paved.



  8. #8
    Newbie Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4
    Hi Norm and Glenda, there's 4 of us travelling together and we're all from Melbourne.

    Looking forward to this cruise very much. We just got our paperwork yesterday, they're cutting it a bit fine!

    Still waiting on some photos Cruisenet!!

    Kerri

  9. #9
    Newbie Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    Hi
    Kerrie
    I am sure you will all have a top time. All Glenda's family are from Wantirna & Forrest Hill areas. We were both born & breed in Ballarat, where all my family still lives.
    We are leaving next monday to have a few days in Hong Kong before he cruise.
    Bon voyage
    Norm & Glenda

  10. #10
    Newbie Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    Kerrie
    By the way you asked Cruisesnet for the photos. Going by his post he went on Rhapsody of the Seas Asia cruises 08/02//08 . That is probay why he has not posted the photos.
    Norm

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •